PDP: Rocky Horror Picture Show

20161028_192728_hdr

Section: Exploring Diverse Ideas and People in a Global Society

The first time I watched The Rocky Horror Picture Show was in the fifth grade. If you’ve ever seen the movie, you may think that’s a little young, but me and my friends loved it. So, when I heard about this…interesting…showing of the film, I was intrigued. I knew I would want to go to the show, but there was no way that I was going to dress up. Lo and behold, there I was, standing in the cold with the other honors kids, feeling very out of place in just a lace top and thigh high tights (seen above). 

For as little as I was wearing on that chilly October the 28th night, I was actually pretty comfortable. Maybe I was just too shocked at what I was wearing to really care about anything else. The best part, though, of the whole night was seeing all of the other Honors students dressed up as well. There were people dressed in drag that I never thought would, and girls walking around in nothing but a bra and a pair of shorts (and I thought I was scantily clad). Some of them looked like they were having the time of their lives, others looked totally out of place. Some, like me, were kinda in the middle; not really sure what to do with themselves. And that’s why we all decided to do this for our PDP. To step out of our comfort zones a little bit and do something we wouldn’t normally do. Also, to experience the culture of the people who do this every year; who dedicate a lot of their time to this cult classic. 

For starters, I misjudged how long the walk was to the theater from Larzy to the Broadway Theather downtown… needless to say, I had my shoes off within the first five minutes of the walk. When we got to the theater, my adrenaline was pumping. I was so excited to watch the movie, and I was excited for what was to come during the movie. I had heard that some interesting things were to happen during it. We sat there for about 20 minutes before the show started. AND IT WAS AWESOME. I was a little put off at first, because people were shouting things left and right and I couldn’t really hear the movie. Once we got into it a little more, I couldn’t help but laugh hysterically at the different (rehearsed) outcries from the audience. It was crazy how almost everyone in the theater knew exactly what to say when. It was an absolutely fantastic experience. 

The point of this category is to ‘explore diverse ideas and people.’ Well, there was CERTAINLY a lot of diversity in that theater. A lot of us students had never seen anything like this (and a lot of us had never dressed in drag before). It was great to get out of our shells and throw ourselves into this crazy environment, and I think we all enjoyed acting a little crazy for once in our lives. I know I did. 

Leave a Reply

