Residence Hall Assembly

When I first joined Residence Hall Assembly (otherwise known as RHA), I can honestly say that I had no idea what it was. Our two hall council representatives come to our Hall Council one day and said that their group was looking for people to join their executive board. I thought it sounded like a good way to get involved on campus (I still hadn’t joined an RSO yet that I actually liked). So I went to the meetings and, miraculously, won the position of Director of Administration (aka secretary)…

Within the first week I wanted to quit.

To be perfectly honest, I didn’t really know what I was getting into when signed up. I had been the secretary of a couple different groups when I was in high school, and a couple eboards as well. I figured this would be about the same-you show up to meetings, take some notes, have a quick eboard meeting to discuss what went on. Couple hours a week, tops.

Turns out that college meetings are a lot longer, and more in-depth, than high school meetings. And I apparently had to do these things called ‘office hours’ for three hours a week, along with other miscellaneous tasks and event planning.

There was just so much going on that I didn’t think I would be able to handle it.

Within a couple of weeks, however, I knew I had found my place. Our executive team was full of some of the most dedicated people I have ever met. They all really cared about the students all over campus, and they wanted to make sure they were going above and beyond in everything they did.

I have learned more from this RSO than I ever thought I would. I learned the importance of time management, and making commitments: if you say you are going to do something, then you you have to make the time in your schedule to get it done; if you make a commitment, then you have to stay true to your word; and, most importantly, I learned the importance of making connections. There are so many people from around campus I had the opportunity to meet this year. I was able to make valuable connections from all around campus and make friends with people I probably would never have met otherwise.

Joining RHA was one of the greatest decisions I made during my freshman year, and I am excited to go even further into this organization next year.

Leave a Reply

